Monday, May 15, 2017

MSSU's Stewart, Corbett named to All-Region softball team

(From MSSU Lions Athletic News)

Tahlequah, Okla. - Missouri Southern junior Myranda Stewart earned first team All-Region and junior Abi Corbett was named second team All-Region today by the Division II Conference Commissioner's Association (D2CCA).
Augustana's Sarah Kennedy and Minnesota State's Coley Ries headlined the 2017 D2CCA All-Central Region Team as its Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year. Monday's announcement included 23 student-athletes from 13 institutions within the NCAA Division II Central Region that includes Great American Conference, the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletic Association and the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference.

Stewart was the top voter getter among the second basemen as she finished second on the Lions' squad in batting average (.375), hits (66) and led the team in doubles (12), home runs (5), and set a new single season record with 55 RBIs. Corbett led all of D2 for much of the latter part of the season in hits finishing her season with 96. Those 96 hits set a new Southern and MIAA single season mark. Corbett also set a new single season mark in at bats (216) and runs (56) and had the fourth best mark in a single season in stolen bases with 30.
A total of 14 members are included in both the first team and second team with Central Oklahoma and Minnesota State picking up a region high four honors each. Southern Arkansas led the region with three first team honors, followed by Central Oklahoma and Harding who both had a pair of first team award winners.
Harding's Autumn Humes had the distinction of appearing on both the first team and second team. Humes was a first team honoree as a pitcher and was named to the region's second team as a designated player which landed within the rules that pitchers can also be nominated as designated player and vice versa.
Each member of the first-team All-Central Region squad will join first-team members from each of the other seven regions on the ballot for the D2CCA All-America Team. The teams are voted on by the members of the NCAA Division II Sports Information Directors Association.
Player of the Year
SSSarah KennedySr.Bettendorf, IowaAugustana

Pitcher of the Year
Coley RiesSr.Eagle Lake, Minn.Minnesota State
First Team
CTori ColletSr.Houston, TexasCentral Oklahoma
1BMaddie DowSr.Bonham, TexasSouthern Arkansas
2BMyranda StewartJr.Owasso, Okla.Missouri Southern State
SSSarah KennedySr.Bettendorf, IowaAugustana
3BHaley AcreySo.Baytown, TexasNortheastern State
OFPeyton MillsSo.Rockwall, TexasHarding
OFBrooke GoadJr.Waxahachie, TexasSouthern Arkansas
OFCarrie AbramsJr.Yukon, Okla.Central Oklahoma
PColey RiesSr.Eagle Lake, Minn.Minnesota State
PAutumn HumesFr.Bald Knob, Ark.Harding
PJalissa GumSr.Red Rock, Okla.Arkansas Tech
DPJill RoyeJr.McAlester, Okla.Southern Arkansas
UTKala HolderFr.Olathe, Kan.Pittsburg State
UT/PMcKenna LarsenJr.Oconto Falls, Wis.Winona State
Second Team
CShannon PetersenSo.Edina, MinnAugustana
1BAmber KralFr.Wellman, IowaMinnesota State
2BMcKenzie RiceSr.Bryant, Ark.Arkansas-Monticello
SSMorgan HeardJr.Midwest City, Okla.Central Oklahoma
3BKatie KlostermanSr.Omaha, Neb.Missouri Western State
OFJess MeidlJr.Lakeville, MinnMinnesota State
OFAbi CorbettJr.Wentzville, Mo.Missouri Southern State
OFMcKenzie PaapSo.Excelsior, Minn.Minnesota State
PEmmie RobertsonJr.Lamar, Mo.Pittsburg State
PHannah JohnsonSr.Branson, Mo.Harding
PJayden ChestnutSo.Mustang, Okla.Central Oklahoma
DPAutumn HumesFr.Bald Knob, Ark.Harding
UTAli NowakFr.New Berlin, Wis.Winona State
UT/PKatie GiaconeJr.Belton, Mo.Central Missouri

No comments:

Post a Comment